Cart 

Placement of Virginia vehicle inspection stickers to change effective Jan. 1, 2018

Starting January 1, Virginia state inspection stickers will no longer be placed on the bottom center of a Virginia vehicle’s windshield. Learn the purpose of this change and how it will affect youi

inspections 01-01-18 Share:

Starting January 1, Virginia state inspection stickers will no longer be placed on the bottom center of a Virginia vehicle’s windshield.

Virginia state inspection stickers will now be placed in the bottom left corner of the windshield, when viewed from inside the vehicle, and will also apply to the placement of any other authorized stickers.










What is the purpose of changing the location of the Virginia vehicle inspection sticker?


The relocation of Virginia’s vehicle inspection sticker is consistent with other states across the nation. The Virginia State Police explained that this change is due to “new innovations in the automobile industry.” Those changes include crash avoidance technology that utilizes the center of the windshield. Crash avoidance technology refers to any cameras, lasers and/or radar that monitors what is occurring around your vehicle. These systems are usually installed in the center of the vehicle on the dash. Stickers placed in that area could prevent those systems from operating properly.


In the past, crash avoidance technology was usually only associated with luxury vehicles, however, this type of safety system is now an optional add-on feature in most standard vehicles. We also recently learned that GM, Ford, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles, Tesla, Toyota, BMW, Daimler, Mazda, Subaru, Maserati, Porsche, Volvo, Volkswagen Group, Hyundai-Kia, Mitsubishi and Jaguar Land Rover all agreed with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety to make collision avoidance systems with automatic emergency braking standard on almost all new cars by September 2022.


Should you move my current Virginia vehicle inspection sticker?


No. Existing Virginia vehicle inspection stickers are to remain in their current position – in the bottom center of the windshield. Once a vehicle is inspected and issued a 2019 sticker, the new inspection sticker will be placed in the lower left corner.


Want a reminder on how to prepare your vehicle for a Virginia state inspection?


We’ve created this helpful article on How To Prepare Your Vehicle For A State Inspection.

As a friendly reminder, all five of our Northern Virginia based Wiygul Automotive Clinic locations are official state inspection stations!


Helpful hint: The wait time for a Virginia state inspection is generally lowest during the middle two weeks of any given month.

Similar Articles

01-04-2021 Car Inspection Herndon, VA | VA Safety Inspection | VA Emissions Inspection link
inspections
Car Inspection Herndon, VA | VA Safety Inspection | VA Emissions Inspection
Read More
10-08-2020 Car Inspection Reston, VA | VA Safety Inspection | VA Emissions Inspection link
inspections
Car Inspection Reston, VA | VA Safety Inspection | VA Emissions Inspection
Read More
10-01-2020 Pre purchase inspection benefits for buyers & sellers link
inspections
Pre purchase inspection benefits for buyers & sellers
Read More

8 convenient locations

6001 Lane Drive
Alexandria, Virginia 22304

703.751.1040

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
310 S. Pickett Street
Alexandria, Virginia 22304

703.751.6766

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
5665 Burke Centre Parkway
Burke, Virginia 22015

703.764.1700

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
8007 Malcolm Road
Clinton, Maryland 20735

301.856.8119

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
9205 Livingston Road
Fort Washington, Maryland 20744

301.265.9600

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
630 Grant Street
Herndon, Virginia 20170

703.435.3000

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
11728 Sunset Hills Road
Reston, Virginia 20190

703.437.7070

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
137 Saint Patricks Drive
Waldorf, Maryland 20603

301.632.6701

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed

Stay in the know

Our Customers Love Us:

Wiygul Awards
Wiygul Arwards
Let Our Family
Take Care of Your Family

When you bring your family’s car to Wiygul Automotive Clinic, we take your trust in us seriously. We take the time to get to know you and your vehicle. In addition, we will send you service reminders and maintain service records that help keep your car’s factory warranty valid - which means you don’t have to go to the dealer for service.

We want to take the stress out of getting your vehicle serviced. We’ll never talk down to you or pressure you, but we will be completely thorough honest about what your car does need - specifically noting anything that could be a safety issue.

You can rely on our promise of honesty and competence when we service your vehicle. Our customers know that they will get a fair price for services provided.

Wiygul Family

DEALS, TIPS, EVENT DETAILS, AND MORE.

Get exclusive access to them all when you sign up for our newsletter.

Ezytire Toolbox