Mobile and Traditional Emissions Inspection in Fairfax Station, VA
Complete Emissions Inspection in Fairfax Station, VA Before Vehicle Registration Renewal
According to a Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) news release in January of this year vehicles are the single greatest source of pollutants in Northern Virginia. To improve air quality, vehicle emissions must be inspected by a certified emissions inspection station before your vehicle registration can be renewed.
The DMV goes on to say:
“Vehicles garaged in the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William, and Stafford and the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park. Inspections are valid for two years. Once your vehicle is inspected, your DMV record is updated by the emissions station.”
If you are registering your vehicle in Virginia for the first time and have a current (past 12 months) valid emissions certificate from one of these states, you can have it registered without completing the Virginia emissions inspection:
Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, or Wisconsin.
The Air Check Virginia Mobile Emissions Inspection Program
This onroad emissions program began in August, 2006. The RS-D (Roadside Detection) system measures exhaust from vehicles driving past a network of Northern Virginia road-based remote sensors. Meanwhile, a camera takes a picture of the license plate. This information is transmitted to DEQ for processing.
If Virginia emissions criteria are met, the owner is notified with inspection payment options. If not, the vehicle owner has 30 days to complete necessary repairs, have an emissions inspection performed, and confirm the vehicle is in compliance with emissions inspection requirements in Fairfax Station.
The Virginia Emissions Inspection in Fairfax Station, VA
Virginia Emissions inspections expire every two years. Before that date, have your vehicle inspected at a certified emissions inspection station. Emissions inspection cost is set by law at $28. Vehicles that require emissions inspection are charged $2 per year at the time of registration. To locate a certified vehicle inspector or get more information, contact the Department of Environment Quality toll free in Virginia at 1-800-275-3844.
Make sure your vehicle has passed emissions inspection before you apply for vehicle registration. The vehicle registration and renewal application is available online at www.dmvNOW.com.