Penalties for Not Adhering to Virginia State Inspection Laws
It’s simple; in order to drive in Virginia, you must adhere to Virginia state inspection laws. Before operating a vehicle in Virginia, it must pass an annual safety inspection and display a valid safety inspection sticker. If you operate your vehicle without having it inspected and without a valid safety inspection sticker, you may be ticketed and receive a fine. Your offense may also be posted to your driving record.
If your vehicle undergoes a safety inspection and is found to have a defect, that defect must be corrected and the vehicle reinspected within 15 days. If the defect is not corrected and the vehicle is not reinspected within 15 days, you will be in jeopardy of receiving a summons for any defect still present any time the vehicle is operated.
Annual safety inspection stickers expire the last day of the month, regardless of whether it is a weekday or weekend. There are no extensions. If your vehicle’s inspection sticker is not current, and you drive within Virginia, you may be ticketed and fined.
VA State Inspections
At Wiygul Automotive Clinic we are approved for VA State Auto Inspections and Emissions Testing.
For more information on Virginia state inspection laws and to have your vehicle inspected, contact Wiygul Automotive Clinic. As a AAA-approved center for auto repair and maintenance, Wiygul Automotive Clinic specializes in complete foreign and domestic repair service, serving Burke, Fairfax Station, Clifton, Fairfax City, and Springfield.