Cart 

Emissions Inspection – Alexandria VA

Wiygul Automotive Clinic is a top rated emissions inspection facility located in Alexandria, VA.

service areas 07-03-18 Share:

Most autos and trucks driving on our roads and highways have to pass a VA Emissions Inspection. That is the case for nearly all Alexandria, VA vehicles unless they fall outside the categories determined by the VA Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The state divides auto and truck categories by the fuel they consume. Every vehicle in them must Pass the inspection. Each inspection is valid for two years.

Diesel-powered passenger and property-hauling autos and trucks that have a manufacturer’s Designated Gross Weight Rating of 8,500 pounds or less and are 1997 or newer models. If the vehicle is heavier than that or it is a 1996 model of older, then it receives a Waiver from the VA DMV.

Gasoline-powered passenger and property-hauling autos and trucks also need to receive a Pass if they have a manufacturer’s Designated Gross Weight Rating of 10,000 pounds or less and are a model less than 25 years old from before January 1st of the current calendar year. As an example, a 2001 Ford Mustang falls into this category while a 1992 Mercedes moving van is one year outside the cut-off of January 1st 2018 and receives a Waiver from the VA Emissions Inspection for their Alexandria, VA vehicle.

These requirements are mandatory for all category-meeting vehicles for all residents in Arlington, Fairfax, Loudon, Prince William, and Stafford Counties or the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park.

At Wiygul Automotive Clinics, providing this service is another important part of continuing our family and business tradition of excellent service. Our grandfather, James Wiygul began it 60 years ago with his very first job in the automotive industry. He immediately decided to "Never Lie, Cheat or Steal, Ever" his customers or anyone he dealt with, and it is still a guiding principle for us today.

Years later, in 1976, Oscar Wiygul Sr. opened our first Automotive Clinic here in Alexandria on South Pickett Street with his wife, Sue. We usually call them Dad and Mom though. The original building has expanded, and we now have twelve auto technicians and four service writers to ensure every Alexandria, VA car that comes in for a VA Emissions Inspection is tested quickly, efficiently, and put back out on the road.

Each Wiygul Automotive Clinic tests and services all major automotive brands, foreign and domestic. Until the end of May, we offer a $14.00 coupon off the cost of every VA Emissions Inspection. One thing to keep in mind for whenever you want to drop in and have your vehicle tested; the wait for an Emissions Inspection is usually at its lowest in the middle two weeks of every month. Plan to block out your morning or afternoon, because we perform the inspections strictly on a first-come-first-serve basis.

With now more than forty years in business, we are proud to serve our fellow Virginians at locations in Alexandria, Burke, Herndon, Reston. If you have a question for us, call today at 866-702-8050.

Similar Articles

06-10-2020 Wiygul Automotive Clinic’s Truck Repair in Fort Washington, Maryland link
service areas
Wiygul Automotive Clinic’s Truck Repair in Fort Washington, Maryland
Read More
06-10-2020 Truck Repair and Maintenance Service in Herndon, Virginia link
service areas
Truck Repair and Maintenance Service in Herndon, Virginia
Read More
06-10-2020 Affordable New Tires in Fort Washington, Maryland link
service areas
Affordable New Tires in Fort Washington, Maryland
Read More

8 convenient locations

6001 Lane Drive
Alexandria, Virginia 22304

703.751.1040

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
310 S. Pickett Street
Alexandria, Virginia 22304

703.751.6766

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
5665 Burke Centre Parkway
Burke, Virginia 22015

703.764.1700

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
8007 Malcolm Road
Clinton, Maryland 20735

301.856.8119

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
9205 Livingston Road
Fort Washington, Maryland 20744

301.265.9600

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
630 Grant Street
Herndon, Virginia 20170

703.435.3000

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
11728 Sunset Hills Road
Reston, Virginia 20190

703.437.7070

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed
137 Saint Patricks Drive
Waldorf, Maryland 20603

301.632.6701

Mon-Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun: Closed

Stay in the know

Our Customers Love Us:

Wiygul Awards
Wiygul Arwards
Let Our Family
Take Care of Your Family

When you bring your family’s car to Wiygul Automotive Clinic, we take your trust in us seriously. We take the time to get to know you and your vehicle. In addition, we will send you service reminders and maintain service records that help keep your car’s factory warranty valid - which means you don’t have to go to the dealer for service.

We want to take the stress out of getting your vehicle serviced. We’ll never talk down to you or pressure you, but we will be completely thorough honest about what your car does need - specifically noting anything that could be a safety issue.

You can rely on our promise of honesty and competence when we service your vehicle. Our customers know that they will get a fair price for services provided.

Wiygul Family

DEALS, TIPS, EVENT DETAILS, AND MORE.

Get exclusive access to them all when you sign up for our newsletter.

Ezytire Toolbox